Размер шрифта
Цвет сайта

Agreement on the establishment of the Alliance of Early Universal Museums was signedAgreement on the establishment of the Alliance of Early Universal Museums


On October 12, the final stage of international negotiations on the creation of the Alliance of Early Universal Museums took place online. The conference was attended by representatives of the three founding museums of the Alliance: Andrei V. Golovnev, Natalya P. Kopaneva, Tatyana S. Kisser from the Peter the Great Museum of Anthropology and Ethnography (Kunstkamera) of the Russian Academy of Sciences (St. Petersburg, Russia), Dr. Marjan Scharloo from the Teylers Museum (Haarlem, Netherlands), Prof. Dr. Thomas Müller-Bahlke, Prof. Dr. Holger Zaunstöck, Dr. Claus Veltmann, Friederike Lippold from Frankesche Stiftungen (Halle, Germany). One of the leading experts in the field of museum history, Professor Arthur MacGregor (UK) was also invited to discuss the main provisions of the Alliance.

The Kunstkamera in Saint-Petersburg, famous Wunderkammer in Halle (which is part of Franckeschen Stiftungen), Teylers Museum in Haarlem, Netherlands, have longstanding scientific contacts. The creation of the Alliance will strengthen these ties, unite institutions and specialists at a new level, allow for joint scientific research, exchange of museum practices and organize joint exhibition projects.

During the negotiations, the main provisions of the Alliance of Early Universal Museums were finalized, the organization's logo was approved and the final amendments were made to the text of the Agreement. The Agreement itself will be signed today, October 13, in the online format simultaneously in three European cities: St. Petersburg, Haarlem and Halle. In St. Petersburg, the signing ceremony will begin immediately after the midday cannon shot at the Peter and Paul Fortress. The document establishing the Alliance of Early Universal Museums will be signed at the historic conference table in the hall of the Lomonosov Museum in the Kunstkamera tower - one of the main symbols of Russian science.